HobbyPCB.com

Built by Hobbyist for Hobbyist!
It is currently Sat Aug 24, 2019 8:57 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2019 10:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2017 12:19 pm
Posts: 15
I am using the RS-HFIQ with the Pi_SDR and PowerSDR. I have had it up and running for several weeks. Everything was working beautifully until recently. Now a switch to 40 meters stops everything. If I open Power SDR on any band other than 40 meters, everything works fine. If I open PowerSDR while in 40 meters, or if I change from any other opening band to 40 meters, I cannot transmit. I also cannot change frequency. The VFO changes, but the frequency, detected by the audio out, does not change. The panadapter and waterfall also do not change as I am changing the VFO.

When I try to transmit, the PowerSDR indicates a signal on the Panadapter, but the TX LED on the RS_HFIQ remains off. I have tried several different USB cables, but get same response.

Any suggestions?

AI6B


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 14, 2019 9:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 6:25 am
Posts: 1143
This seems like a PI SDR IQ+ issue not a RS-HFIQ issue. If you want to confirm that, try connecting the RS-HFIQ's USB port directly to your PC and use Termite (or another terminal emulator) to send commands directly to the RS-HFIQ. You can tune it to 40M with the *Fnnnnnnnn command and read the frequency back with the *f? You can key it on and off with the *X1 and *X0 commands.

You can find a complete list if the commands here and protocol settings:

https://sites.google.com/site/rshfiqtransceiver/home/technical-data/interface-commands

You should also contact PI SDR IQ+ support via their forum, maybe it's a known issue with an easy fix.

73,
Jim WA2EUJ


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 14, 2019 10:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2017 12:19 pm
Posts: 15
Thanks Jim. I did contact Christos about this. He said that it was probably not a Pi SDR issue and suggested that I reflash the sketch to the Nano on the RS HFIQ.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 14, 2019 5:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2017 12:19 pm
Posts: 15
My Nano has gone south. I tried to reload the RS-HFIQ sketch, and other than I pow LED, I get no response.
I will order and install a new one. Don't know what could have happened to it. I am a gentle kind of guy.

Thanks for the suggestions,

AI6B


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2019 6:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 6:25 am
Posts: 1143
At what the Nano's cost I don't think that there's much quality control.

The standard Nano has pins that are too short yo properly sit in the socket on the RS-HFIQ. If you can't find one with extra long pins, get one with no pins and I'll send you headers with longer pins.

Jim.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2019 10:19 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2017 12:19 pm
Posts: 15
Thanks Jim,

I ordered two of these from Amazon which have been shipped: Huayuxin Nano V3.0 Arduino Mini-Controller Development Board CH340/ATmega328P Nano Board.

If it does not fit, I will order a pinless one. If it does not fit I will order pinless version and email you to request headers.

AI6B


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group